

Regular Meeting of the Board of Directors Thursday, January 16, 2020 - 9:30 am PST

> Offices of Van Ness Feldman PC 719 Second Avenue, Suite 1150 Seattle, Washington 98104

Conference call number: 1-563-999-2090 Access code: 755212#

MINUTES

Board Members Present:

Gregg Chason, Funai Corp. Inc.
Kim Fox, Lenovo
Brandon Seegmiller, HP
Eric Gilbert, Acer America
Madeline Smith, LG
Chris Kaasmann, Samsung
Ken Lowe, VIZIO
Melissa Mallory, Dell
Kristyn Rankin, Apple
Chipper Hervieux, Dept. of Ecology

Also Present Were:

John Friedrick, Executive Director, WMMFA

Board Members Absent:

Radi Simeonova, Department of Commerce – WA State Mark Dabek, RE-PC

1. Call to order – Brandon Seegmiller

The meeting was called to order by Brandon at 9:31 am

2. Approve minutes of the: November 21st, 2019 regular meeting of the Board - (Board vote)

Brandon asked members present if there were any comments or edits proposed to the draft minutes of the last regular meeting. There were no comments or suggested changes. On a motion by Kristyn Rankin seconded by Gregg Chason the draft minutes were approved as final by unanimous vote.

3. Report on December and annual 2019 operational and financial results – John Friedrick

- Pounds by CEP totals
- Financial reports
- Unpaid past due manufacturer's invoices to date

Director Friedrick summarized financial and volume results for the month of December and YTD. He referenced that volume in pounds had decreased by 15.6% from the previous year and that for the first time in the 11-year WMMFA's history the unit volume of televisions was comprised by televisions other than CRT (Flat screen and projection). Friedrick also referenced that expenses had decreased significantly from 2018 despite the fact that the WMMFA cost per pound had increased by 2% from 2018 to 2019. Friedrick also asked the board to review the updated annual financial statistics that provide the collections volume by product type and costs over time. Several key figures from prior years compared with 2009 were discussed including the reasons for the increase in cost per pound since the start of the plan in 2009. There was also a discussion of the member's past due report for the complete year. The collection rate was well over 99.8%.

4. 2020 Q2 proposed budget and annual projections (Board vote) - John Friedrick

The Executive Director presented the full year 2020 budget to the board which he stated was unchanged from the budget proposed for Q1 2020, with annual projections. Friedrick projected a 12% decrease in volume, with a slight increase in cost per pound for Q2 and for the year with a slight decrease in total cost from 2019. On a motion by Ken Lowe, seconded by Gregg Chason, the Q2 2020 budget was approved unanimously.

5. Board member director nominees – annual vote (Board vote)

Director Friedrick explained that officer/board positions that comprise the executive committee were to be chosen by nomination and vote at the first annual meeting of each year. All of the directors in position at year end 2019 ran unopposed for 2020 and there were no new nominees for the positions. On a motion by Ken Lowe, seconded by Brandon Seegmiller, Gregg Chason was chosen as Chairperson by unanimous vote. On a motion by Kristyn Rankin, seconded by Melissa Mallory, Chris Kaasmann was chosen as Vice Chairperson by unanimous vote. On a motion by Gregg Chason, seconded by Chris Kaasmann, Brandon Seegmiller was chosen as Secretary by unanimous vote. On a motion by Melissa Mallory, seconded by Ken Lowe, Madeline Smith was chosen as Treasurer by unanimous vote. On a motion by Kim Fox, seconded by Gregg Chason, Kristyn Rankin was chosen as WMMFA member at Large by unanimous vote. Therefore board/officer executive committee members are as listed below effective at the next regularly scheduled board meeting March 19, 2020.

Chairperson Gregg Chason – Funai Corp. Inc.
Vice Chairperson Chris Kaasmann - Samsung
Secretary Brandon Seegmiller - HP
Treasurer Madeline Smith - LG
Member at Large Kristin Rankin – Apple

6. Legislative Update – *TBD*

Director Friedrick stated that the 2020 Legislative session had just begun and that he was not aware of any proposed legislation that would directly affect the WMMFA operations. There was a brief discussion about a contemplated and proposed battery bill and the implications that the bill might have on the covered products containing batteries within the WMMFA E-cycle plan. Friedrick said he would look into it and keep the board posted

7. Old business – continued discussion on restitution funding allocations – et.al.

Director Friedrick reviewed past discussions on this topic by referencing a motion passed at the last meeting that would set aside some of the funds received in a previous court judgement for improving downstream monitoring of WMMFA processors. He also asked the board to refer to a reference document provided that listed some of the objections to the BAN Earth Eye proposal/contract previously presented. There was a lot of discussion surrounding the contract pros and cons, control of data and operational implementation. After discussions Chris Kaasmann made a motion to approve the most recent contract tentatively agreed to by BAN and the WMMFA for ratification in order to implement. The motion was seconded by Brandon Seegmiller.

That voting affirmative were Gregg Chason, Chris Kaasmann, Brandon Seegmiller, Eric Gilbert, Madeline Smith, Ken Lowe, and Melissa Mallory. Abstaining were Kristyn Rankin and Kim Fox. The motion therefore passed on a majority vote of the quorum present. After the vote Friedrick suggested a methodology for the number and placement locations of devices. After a brief discussion Friedrick said he would get with Earth Eye/BAN and iron out the specifics and update the board accordingly along the way.

8. Matters to discuss at future meetings

Director Friedrick said that he would be proposing dates and venue for the annual in person meeting soon and get back to them with some proposed dates.

- a. Annual "in person" meeting dates notice and discussion
- b. Govt. satisfaction report
- c. Annual report to Ecology highlights / summary

Meeting Adjourned at 10:10 am